12WBT – The First Week (so far)

So far this week, I have tried the following foods that I would usually have avoided:

  • Cottage Cheese – In my 22 years of life, i’d never tried cottage cheese until this week. I don’t hate it, but I definitely like cream cheese more. I did enjoy it on the Banana Bruschetta though.
  • Grilled Fish – I like a good tempura battered fish and chips occasionally, but i’m not much of a seafood eater. But since I decided to go into this program with an open mind, I tried it anyway. Think i’ll be choosing the vegetarian option when fish recipes pop up. Bleh.
  • Nutmeat – I was a vegetarian for around 5 years but somehow nutmeat was never something I tried. At first I thought it was someones idea of a cruel joke and I was about to eat a can of pet food, but with some serious seasoning and spices, it was actually pretty good! Who would have thought….
  • Yoghurt as sauce – I’d never used yoghurt as a sauce-type base until last night when I had it with mint and the nutmeat. Awesome!!

As much as I am enjoying eating clean and preparing my own meals, I feel so overwhelmed at the moment just due to lack of time. From 5:30am – 7:30pm I am either getting dressed for work, travelling to/from work or at work. 7:30pm until whatever time I finish my workout is spent at the gym and by the time I get home and shower, it’s at least 9pm and I spend the rest of the night until my 10pm bed time cooking and cleaning. I haven’t had a single moment to sit down and relax. I think it’s more likely that burning out will be my downfall than bad eating/no exercise. Particularly when a 10pm bed time still only gets me 7.5 hours sleep – and that’s if I fall asleep instantly!

Anyway, enough whinging…

The exercise has been interesting for me. I’ve never followed an exercise plan and am still a little unsure about what program I should be following. Monday night I worked out at home and did a combination of the intermediate and advanced moves on the Earn Your Burn workout, while last night at the gym I did the intermediate program but worked out harder than the plan for the warm up. I left feeling like I hadn’t done much at all (especially since I was only there for 45 minutes, much less than usual) but I have to say, my arms are a little sore today. Getting back into a full weights/strength routine for the first time since injuring my tailbone was great, though I can tell how much muscle I’ve lost from the break.

In terms of weight loss, I wasn’t expecting much since I ate pretty badly last week and on the weekend. Convenience won out over nutrition. But, surprisingly, I had a loss and now i’m excited for next week when the real results will start coming in.

Until then, Onwards and Upwards!!

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on February 13, 2013, in Life/Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

