Another Week, Another Update

I really need to actually post things in between these updates….

Last week was a big week for me. My mum and sister both had their birthdays, Valentine’s Day arrived and I started the 12WBT. Maybe that’s why i’m feeling so tired this week! Last week I did no meal prep before the week began so I don’t think I got to bed on time at all. In saying that, the meals and recipes have been great. Even though I was eating relatively clean before, I can tell i’m getting a lot more nutrients and vitamins out of my food now.

Food highlights of the week:

  • Banana Brushetta – I’d never had cottage cheese until last week. I loved it with the banana.
  • Tomato & Fetta Pizza with Olives – I had this without olives, but it was amazing. Wholemeal pita makes for a great pizza base.
  • Crustless Blueberry Cheesecake – How could I not have loved this!? Who would have thought cheesecake would have made it into a diet plan (even if it was mostly greek yoghurt)!

And the lowlights:

  • Spanish Chickpeas with Spinach, Tomatoes & Grilled Fish – I’ve tried to like eating fish many times. Sometimes I do feel like it, but for the majority of the time, it’s not really my thing. I would have loved this without the fish.

I’ve tried to go in to the food side of this program with an open mind. So far it’s been great. Yesterday’s lunch was something I would never have tried and I loved it.

Exercise wise, I haven’t been following the plan too strictly. I am contemplating going up a level, but I think I still have enough weight to lose that moving onto the lean & fit or lean & strong program would be a bad idea as they are focused on a different goal. I’ve been following the program guides, but ramping it up (e.g. if it says cross trainer on level 6-8, I do minimum level 10) just to push myself so I don’t get bored. I’ve been doing this long enough to know my limits and since i’m investing money and time into this, I want it to challenge me. I don’t know if i’m just imagining it, but my legs feel/look as though they are definitely getting more muscle and less fat. Yay!

So overall, i’m enjoying having a change of pace, though it’s leaving me with little to no time. This week i’ve prepped a lot more food but it’s still very time consuming. I guess it’s worth it though. I managed to follow the majority of the plans, with the exception of Valentine’s Day, where my boyfriend made us a healthy-ish version of my all time favourite meal, chicken parmigiana. On Saturday night we also had a birthday dinner for my sister but I had chicken breast and veggies for main and definitely worked off the cake that morning with Body Pump and extra cardio.

Here’s to another week of healthy eating, exercise and challenges 🙂

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Life/Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good job!!;) for the fish I can recommend salmon cooked in the oven for about 30 min on 425 with lemonpepper on top!;) makes a great crust and it tastes so good when its in the oven instead of the pan!:) I usually pair it with either salad or whole wheat pasta with a dill sauce if I need more carbs;)

Leave a Reply

