Does weight loss change people?

1yr-wp

A few weeks ago, my boyfriend Josh mentioned in conversation that I’ve changed since starting my weight loss/lifestyle change journey. He didn’t mean physically, but mentally and personality-wise. He was the one who motivated me to join the gym with him in the first place, so there’s no chance he meant it as an insult but I haven’t stopped thinking about it ever since. Do people change after losing weight?

I’ll be the first to admit that although most of the time I make better choices for myself now, I would still love to eat chicken schnitzel and chocolate everyday. I will probably always prefer the taste of junk food to clean eating, and I am somewhat okay with that because I now have the willpower and mindset to know good nutrition beats satisfying a craving. And even if I do cave and eat certain foods, it’s not the end of the world and I just need to pick myself up, dust myself off and keep going. From the outset I have always said I am not going to sacrifice having a social life and if that means I have an unhealthy meal with friends occasionally, so be it.

I don’t know if I spent my spare time in the past just feeling sorry for myself, but these days I find myself researching and reading articles about the latest fitness and health news and learning about the many different aspects to living a healthier life. If someone had told me even just two years ago that I would be spending my spare time researching Crossfit or Bodybuilding or clean eating I would have laughed in their face. For so many years the mentality that because of my lack of coordination or less-than-athletic body shape I could never be even remotely good at anything to do with exercise was something that I had just accepted. These days, I have learnt to try not to compare myself to others (i’ll admit, it’s hard… I am a woman after all) and that with a little time and hard work, I might even get to a point where I will feel that I am good at all of this.

I mean the following in the very least offensive way possible, let me just be clear. Sometimes I feel as though because I have (up until more recently) always been the least fitness and/or athletic minded person in my family and in groups of friends over the years, that people just shrug me off and think I’ll go back to the way I was. I know there are some huge hurdles ahead of me, but proving people wrong and that element of surprise is such a motivation. I don’t plan on stopping till I am happy with my body and have some sort of physique I can be proud of. For once, I want to be the fit one. I want to be the one people say they want to look like.

I don’t think I’ve reached some turning point in my life. I think I’ve just teetered over the edge of a world full of barbells and supplements and into some other far out world. I’m certainly in no way some health nut… most days it takes me a good hour of commuting to talk myself into going to the gym instead of going home to bed, but I get there. I still cave for bad foods when I want them, but I know what I need to do to get results.

All this talk about myself has gotten me distracted from my original point. But I guess my rambling has answered my question. I think people really do change when they lose weight, but only because it’s not just about losing weight or losing fat. It’s about changing your lifestyle and emerging yourself in the whole nutrition and fitness culture. I suppose I could have just joined a gym, cut out bad foods and just stuck with that, but I find nutrition and the way exercise affects that body completely fascinating. I guess I could say working towards a healthier lifestyle has become a hobby of mine. As absolutely bizarre as that sounds to the old me, the new me doesn’t mind at all. Who would have thought!?

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on May 1, 2013, in Life/Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

