Recipe: Homemade Applesauce

Homemade Applesauce Recipe

Applesauce (essentially puréed apples) are such a good food to heat and up and eat warm on a cold, rainy day like today. I know this recipe is really simple, but I love it so much it can’t hurt to post it.

When I first went to make my own applesauce, I was surprised to find most recipes still had extra sugar on top of the natural sugars found in the apples. I don’t add in the extra sugars since I don’t really think it’s necessary, but I guess if you have a more tart flavour apple, you could try stevia or something similar.

Homemade Applesauce

What you’ll need

  • 8 apples, peeled and diced (Choose a sweet variety. I love using Granny Smith)
  • 1 cup of water
  • Cinnamon, to taste
  • Allspice, to taste

How to make it

  1. Add your diced apple and water into a large pot.
  2. Add cinnamon and allspice to taste.
  3. Bring to a boil (when the water boils), then reduce to a low simmer for around 20 minutes, or until the apples are cooked down into a chunky sauce/purée.
  4. Optional – if your sauce looks too watery, you could strain a bit of the liquid out before processing it.
  5. Turn off the heat and let the sauce cool down a little before using a hand mixer or food processor to purée the applesauce.
  6. Pour the sauce into a container or jar and you’re done!
About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on June 29, 2013, in Nutrition/Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love making homemade apple sauce. When I made it, it turned out SO good and tasted way fresher than store bought. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

