Self-motivation – Talking to yourself in the least weird way possible

Image from WeHeartIt – http://whrt.it/184uNPv

I’m not going to lie – I haven’t been to the gym nearly as much as I should have lately. I’ve had some serious scheduling issues (out of my control) so it just really hasn’t been possible for me to go. On top of not being able to go to the gym, I’ve also had a cold and a bad back in the last few weeks which hasn’t added to my lack of ability to get active.

The problem with not being active, apart from making little to no progress in the fat loss department, is how quickly things go backwards in terms of fitness. During some HIIT on Sunday I nearly vomited running at a speed that I don’t usually struggle with. Hopeless!

I think a lot of it comes down to panic for me though. There’s a little part of me that panics about not being able to breathe smoothly and all of a sudden I’m thinking I can’t push myself any further. But I can. I just need to motivate myself more.

Self-motivation makes up such a huge part of my lifestyle. At 7pm on the train home when I think I can barely stay awake let alone go to the gym, I have to motivate myself and talk myself into going. At lunch time when the office smells of coworkers’ hot chips and tomato sauce (a definite weakness of mine), I have to motivate myself to eat healthy and not give in. And I guess that’s it. Above anything else, getting fit and healthy is about self-motivation. It’s about telling that negative inner voice to shut up and work harder, and the more you ignore it, the quieter it gets.

In a few days I’ll be able to get back to my regular routine. I am so so excited to get back to training hard!!

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Life/Progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

