Review – Shortcut To Shred

Anyone who follows my Facebook or Instagram (and this blog) would know that I’ve just finished Jim Stoppani’s Shortcut To Shred program. I really enjoyed it so thought I’d do a quick overview for anyone looking to do it too.

Anyone with an ectomorph body type like me would know how much if a struggle it can be to lose weight. I am naturally very curvy and I also have short legs meaning a model-type body is never going to be much of a realistic option for me. This program was great in that it was like doing a HIIT workout, but without having to so sprints on the treadmill or elliptical. I get bored easily with cardio so it was awesome to get my cardio in my rest time and be able to get in and out of the gym quicker.

I was a bit worried going in to the program that I would struggle as it was labeled as ‘expert’ on bodybuilding.com and it seemed to be mostly targeted towards men. I’ll admit, they were the hardest workouts I’ve ever done. But they were also the most rewarding. As for diet, I let myself down and didn’t apply myself to the nutrition side of the program as much as I should have, and that’s why I’m planning on redoing it in a few weeks time (not to mention I am now a cardio acceleration convert).

At first I was a little hesitant as I tend to care a lot what people think of me. Well after 6 weeks of people looking at me wondering what I was doing in between sets, it’s safe to say I care a lot less! For the most part, I did running on the spot and sprints up and down the gym (when it was empty) for my cardio acceleration. I know the plan had a variety of exercises, but for me, running gets my heart beating the hardest and requires a lot less coordination than something like bench step ups.

The variety of exercises and routines was something I also really enjoyed. I don’t really have a gym partner which made low rep/high weight days a bit hard, but luckily most exercises can be done with a smith machine.

Though my dieting willpower/skills/time management let me down, I’ve still seen awesome results for fat loss and muscle gain. I can’t wait to redo the program and give the diet 100%.

I’d definitely recommend the program to anyone who has a fairly solid knowledge of gym machines and exercises. I probably wouldn’t launch straight into it if you’re just starting out with free weights though. I love that Jim Stoppani uses science as the basis of the entire program and teaches you new things along the way.

I have proper before and after photos on my computer but I’m on my phone at the moment so this one will have to do for now. It doesn’t look like a huge change but I have noticed big changes in my arms and muscle mass on my legs (what was fat is now muscle).

tl;dr – the 6 weeks of people staring at me like I was a maniac were totally worth it. 10/10.

My next round of Shortcut To Shred starts on the 16th of June 2014. Stay tuned!

20130829-185703.jpg

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Thank you for posting this and for sharing your opinion on the program! I recently discovered this program (last night Ha!) and was wondering if any females had tried it.

    You look GREAT – incredible changes in such a short amount of time. So impressive and inspiring!
    I look forward to reading more about your journey through the world of fitness.

    • Thank you so much! I struggled to find many female reviews that weren’t from people who were already super fit so thought I’d add my opinion in just in case anyone wanted to know haha. I am going to be doing the program again soon since I loved it so much 🙂

  2. Hiya! Well done looking very good! Was wondering – did you take all the supps? I wonder if it’ s not too many stimulants – I’m a bit weary of yohimbe.

    • Hi!
      Since I’m from Australia, we can’t get some of the products in the plan here (Yohimbe can’t be bought or imported here at all).

      I just stuck with:
      – Tablets: Multivitamin (Opti-Women is great), Acetyl L-Carnitine, Green Tea Extract, Fish Oil
      – Protein: Whey Protein during the day, Casein at night
      – Preworkout with Creatine and Beta-Alanine
      – BCAA for post workout

      Hope this helps 🙂

  3. thnq so much for posting dis. i hv strtd da prgrm ystrday n u jus motivatd me to follow it throughout :-))

  4. I begin Shortcut 2 shred in two weeks. I am in my final weeks of Living Large with Jay Cutler… Which totally help me put muscle on. I recommend that for bulking. I am nervous about the supps. Seems like a lot of protein and casein. Am I wrong? I’m not certain if I can take all of everything… Good luck to you!

    • Hi Tara! If you’re concerned about the amount of powder-based protein in the plan, there’s a note on the Alternate Food Options page that says “You can also replace any meat with roughly two servings of the dairy products listed below or two scoops of whey or mixed protein powder.”. I’d say this would work in reverse as well so you could substitute some of the shakes for meat or tofu. Here’s the link if you want to read into it –
      http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/jim-stoppani-six-week-shortcut-to-shred-nutrition-alternatives.html

      The amount of protein you need in the plan does vary with body weight too – 1.5 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight is the target.

      Thanks for your comment and good luck!!

  5. Thanks for the post, esp the reply about the supplements. I am looking to start this program but was a bit worried as his supplement list was too long! A small suggestion if I may, Re your body type, you may want to check the following link

    http://www.muscleandstrength.com/articles/body-types-ectomorph-mesomorph-endomorph.html

  6. Awesome job! Im glad I came across this. Im on week 4 of the program and so far great results but i have to admit I feel “big” at times. Bloated maybe. Im followibg more if the nutrition aspect and getting in the workouts as my second workout of the day at least three times per day.I do crossfit in the mornings 6 days and the concept is kind of the same so I figured it would even out. Best if luck on ur “re”journey! ^_^ ind me on instagram id love to follow ur results! Vanessal0308 🙂

  7. Hey I am now on week 4, have you started the program over yet?

    • Sure have! This is my week 4. How are you going with it? 🙂

      • hey, I am now starting week 6 of round 1….how are your results so far? I am also doing introduction to atkins….will be eating very clean…mostly protein and veggies, will add healthy fats as well!!!! I hope to lose another 6 lbs in the next three week, I love this type of training…I am using a rower,med ball slams, spin bikes, jump rope and box jumps for cardio!!!

      • Sounds like you are doing great 🙂
        I am almost finished week 6! My results are good and I am feeling quite strong. It’s definitely a great way to train!

  8. good for you…ive had a stupid couple of nights with eating, but I get right back up and start clean again, I am also doing some extra cardio, walking or step-mill…I would like to start running outside a bit as well!!!! are you going to post more pictures? hang in there, we can do this together!!! keep me posted on your progress, and train hard

    • I’ve had the same lately. As long as you dust yourself and get back into it, it’s all good! I will have to take some more progress photos… I just haven’t had the time yet! It’s been almost 2 weeks since I finished and I still need to take some better ones!

  1. Pingback: Restarting STS and IIFIYM learnings | Three Steps Forward, Zero Steps Back

Leave a Reply

