IIFYM and September Revolution Anniversary

As I posted on the Zero Steps Back Facebook page this morning, it was on this day last year that I decided to overhaul my diet and really get stuck into transforming my life. I signed up to the gym in March 2012 but until September, I just saw it as another excuse to eat crap food with a bit less guilt. I lost a little bit of weight, but I don’t think I was really getting any healthier.

In September, I wrote a blog article about my “September Revolution“. It was a joint effort by my boyfriend and I to both overhaul all the crappy foods we were eating and make some drastic changes to better ourselves.

I started counting calories and choosing more nutritious foods. Developing willpower was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, particularly in an office full of daily chicken-and-chip-eaters (who doesn’t love the smell of hot chips!?).

12 months on, I am much healthier, lighter and active. I have definitely been sucked in to the active lifestyle approach and the health/fitness/nutrition world.

These days I mostly just choose good foods and occasionally splurge a little, though I feel my lack of structure has been letting me down. So, I’m starting IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros). I’ve gathered all the data, and actually started tracking today. Here’s my targets and stats:

Stats

  • BMR: 1449 CALORIES/DAY
  • TDEE: 2119 CALORIES/DAY

Targets

  • Target Calories Per Day: 1695 (20%)
    • 6 meals per day – Breakfast, Morning Snack, Lunch, Afternoon Snack, Pre-Gym, Post-Gym/Dinner
    • Carbs per day: 122.8g
    • Protein per day: 158.4g
    • Fat per day: 63.4g
    • Fibre per day: 32-40g

Data calculated at IIFYM.com. This is the ‘aggressive fat loss’ option. I’m going to start on this, and move onto the ‘suggested’ option.

I know it’s going to take a little getting used to, but I really like this style of ‘flexible dieting’. I always have trouble sticking to eating plans so at least this way I can have lots of variety.

I’ll try and post a weekly summary or something like that so hopefully in a years time, I can look back at this and see how far I’ve come.

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on September 2, 2013, in Life/Progress, Nutrition/Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

