Looking forward to 2014

It’s been so long since I’ve written anything on this blog I’ve almost forgotten how to start!

First up, Happy New Year to anyone who reads this. Hopefully you’re already having a great 2014!

2013 was a huge year for me, and while a lot as happened I have mixed feelings about how successful the year was. During the last few months of the year, I went through some huge personal challenges and changes including health issues (still trying to sort those out), uprooting/moving the life I had known for most of my lifetime and more. I think I changed a lot as a person and am certainly not as afraid of change as I used to be.

On a health and fitness level, I have a confession to make that may somewhat explain my absence from blog writing. I feel like with everything that happened towards the end of last year, a little bit of my passion and fire went out. I have reignited the spark over the last few weeks and am feeling pretty good now, but for a little while I had to put myself into robot mode and go work out because I needed to, regardless of motivation. While I was moving my diet suffered a lot and it’s only really now that I’ve sorted out a routine and gotten back to eating healthier. I think a big part of my motivation drop was because of my lack of progress. 2013 was a year of great transformations for many people, and as I saw their progress over much shorter lengths of time than my own, I couldn’t help but compare myself to others and feel very much disheartened. I know comparing myself to others is a big no-no, but I think we can all admit it is something we still do sometimes. It feels as though I am running into a brick wall and not changing at all, despite the hard work I have been putting in. It’s incredibly frustrating, and I’m sure I’m not alone. It’s not that I am not incredibly happy for anyone who has had an amazing transformation. In fact, I am totally inspired by others’ transformations. It’s just that I had always hoped that after a year and a half of working out and making better food choices, I would no longer feel and look overweight and would be proud to show off my body.

This all brings me to the health issues I mentioned above. I don’t really feel like I need to go into too much detail, but I am still trying to get to the bottom of a few things that may, once diagnosed or solved, may explain why my exercise and diet efforts seem to give lacklustre results. There’s a chance you might be thinking I’m doing something wrong with my diet or workouts that would lead me to this point, but I assure you, I have done the research, tried many different workout plans and tried to be as healthy as possible. It’s not an issue of getting enough vitamins, and hopefully I’ll have some more answers soon. Maybe once I know what’s stopping my progress I’ll write about it a little more.

While all of this makes it seem like I had a bad 2013, I really didn’t. I have learnt more about myself this year than I could have imagined. I have embraced change and taken time out to look after myself. I have finally stopped commuting and can, for the first time in years, put my health first and take time to relax a little. I have started fresh and am enjoying my new surroundings. I have met some great people, and am grateful as always for the people already in my life (especially my family, who have supported me through several tough moments this year).

Now, enough looking back. Onto 2014…

I feel like this year is going to be a good year. I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions as I believe if you have to wait until a certain date to change your life, you don’t want it bad enough, but I do have a few goals I’d like to achieve this year. None of these are particularly new goals, but I think it’ll help to have them down in writing.

2014 Goals

  • Find a new job – Since I moved north, I can no longer keep working in Sydney. I have been using up annual leave since late November, but am on the lookout for a new job. I’m super keen to take on a new challenge, meet new people and learn new skills.
  • Get my health sorted – Hopefully I can get this done over the next few months!
  • Be proud of my own transformation and further it – I have goals of what I want to look like and even with a few hurdles, hopefully I can achieve this goal in 2014. I have already been working hard to get leaner and build muscle, especially over the last few weeks (I’ll probably make a post about how my workouts have changed lately soon!).
  • Do more things outside of my comfort zone – I am a creature of habit and usually a pretty shy person. This year I’m hoping to change that.
  • Care less what others think – I guess this kind of links to several other goals I have for 2014, but it definitely deserves its own point. I have always been the kind of person that gets wrapped up in what other people think of me. I think that in order for me to be proud of myself and love my body, I need to consider more what I think, and less what others think.
  • Blog more – Yeah, I know everyone always says this. But I do want to follow through with my plans to make Zero Steps Back into a fully fledged website and do a giveaway at some point soon.

Thank you for all your support in 2013, and hopefully 2014! xx

“I don’t believe you have to be better than everybody else. I believe you have to be better than you ever thought you could be.” – Ken Venturi

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on January 2, 2014, in Life/Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

