And so 2014 begins…

And what a big week it’s been! Now that the holiday season is over, I am getting back into routine and eating healthy. In terms of workouts, I’ve been doing my usual 6-day split of weights plus at least 15 minutes of HIIT/sprint intervals. I’m also back to tracking macros and making better food choices (no more trifle or pavlova!).

Until the last few weeks, I had been getting pretty lazy with cardio and doing almost none at all. I know it’s a necessary evil for my body type, but it’s something I don’t really enjoy doing. It definitely does pay off through. Apart from having the worst DOMS I’ve had in a while, I can already see I am getting leaner while still building muscle. I’ve also started putting more effort and attention towards my biceps, which are definitely my weakest muscle group.

I set aside some time over the last week to create some comparison images. It’s something I’ve put off for a long time as I was afraid the changes wouldn’t be as drastic as I wanted, but I’ve come to realise the changes are obvious, and the mental strength I’ve gained along the way is huge. I’m not sure I’m ready to share the actual body ones just yet, but here’s a face one I shared on my blog Facebook page a few days ago.

Face - Before and After Weight Loss

Neither of these are particularly flattering photos but that’s the point. Raw and unedited, but the difference is clear.

Apart from working on my own body, I’ve also been trying to motivate my family to make better food choices and made some awesome mini crustless quiches for snacks rather than chips. Not sure how great my motivational skills are, but we shall see!

Here’s a few posts from my instagram over the last few weeks. More are up on my instagram page here.

I’ve got a few posts in the works over the next few days, so stay tuned! x

About cassiedawson

Cassandra (preferably Cassie) Dawson, from Newcastle, Australia.

Posted on January 5, 2014, in Life/Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You can 100% see it in the face! You also look happier too (a little extra sparkle in the eyes). Keep up the fantastic work! I wish you all the success on your journey and that 2014 continues to bring you a happier and healthier lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

